Kenneth Scott

Kenneth Scott copy

What’s your name?

My name is Kenneth Scott.

Where are you from?

I’m from Onalaska, TX, about one and a half hours north of Houston.

Who is(are) your rider(s)?

My rider is Alan Scott #61, 6yrs old.

How long have you been a moto dad?

I've been a moto dad for 2yrs started racing on a PW and now racing Cobra Jr and Cobra Sr along with KTM E-Bike.

Were you into motorcycles before becoming a moto dad?

Yes, I started racing around 4yrs old like Alan. My 1st race was at Rio Bravo. My dad Paul also rode motorcycles and my twin brothers PJ Scott and Chris Scott raced as well. I guess you can say it’s in our blood.

Describe a typical race weekend for you.

A typical race day is pretty crazy. My wife stays with Alan at Quick’s Moto Ranch training all week with Zak Mashburn and Kyle Regal. They come home and I do bike cleaning and maintenance to get them race-ready. It’s not easy but a lot of fun.

What’s your family’s favorite meal to have at the track?

Favorite meal would be Speeder Tacos that basically consists of bacon, egg, and cheese. They are packed with protein and normally get us through the day. Also snow cones.

Do you have any pre-race rituals or superstitions while spectating?

Normally Alan will ride his Oset around to stay pumped up. He can also be seen doing jumping jacks on the line.

Most nerve-wracking moment watching your kid(s) race/ride?

Probably watching him jump. I wasn’t a big jumper when I raced, so watching him is a little scary. He far exceeds my skills as a kid.

Favorite part about spending time at the track?

Just getting away and relaxing with family and friends.

Favorite and least favorite part about traveling to the races?

Sometimes I have to stay behind and fly to the race often missing practice and first motos because of work. Favorite would be going to the starting line, prepping the gate and revving up the motor before the gate drop.

Craziest travel story?

Last year we made the Thanksgiving trip to Mini Os then to the Arizona Open (approx 2050 miles). That was a long haul, but worth it.

Most important lesson motocross teaches at a young age?

Always give it 100% everyday. It’s ok to make a mistake just learn from it and everything else will work out.

Biggest sacrifice you’ve had to make for amateur motocross?

Only the time away from my family while they are gone training all week.

Proudest moment of your career as a moto dad thus far?

Watching my boy come off the track with a big smile knowing he did good. Makes me proud.

What’s your favorite track?

That’s a hard one. There are so many awesome tracks and we have been to so many. 3 Palms in Conroe, TX is our home track. If I had to pick it would be Underground in Kemp, TX.

Who is your favorite pro racer (past or present)?

Favorite pro racer is Ryan Villopoto. He always fights till the end and never gives up.

What is your favorite type of music?

Old school Rock and Roll. 

What hobbies do you have away from motorcycles?

Deep Sea Fishing. The bad thing about it is just like with racing mother nature isn't on our side.

What is your beverage of choice?

Coffee by morning and Dr. Pepper by day.

Any advice for the moto dads of the future?

There’s a lot. Just know every kid is different and give it time. Focus on technique and not just go go go. Stay positive and keep them in shape off the track as well. The results will come.